News Item

Registration opens for the 2019 Canimex-Canadian Music Competition

The Canimex-Canadian Music Competition announce the opening of registration for 2019. Emerging musicians (7 to 25 years old, 30 for the singers) from across the country have until this November 12 to submit their registration at Repertoire requirements as well as the rules for participation are also available on the website. Almost all instruments are accepted. Following the Canada-wide National Audition, selected candidates will meet in Calgary for the National Final and the Stepping Stone. The winners’ Gala Concert will take place on July 4, 2019, at the Rozsa Centre of the University of Calgary, with the Calgary Philharmonic. The Competition will award more than $100,000 in scholarships.

Important dates *

  • Registration: October 15 to November 12, 2018
  • Deadline for repertoire changes:
  • Canada-wide National Audition: -
  • Stepping Stone: -
  • National Final: -
  • Gala Concert: July 4, 2019
  • I want to register in the Competition!
  • I want to register in the Stepping Stone!

Listen violinist Blake Pouliot about his CMC experience

For 60 years, the Canadian Music Competition has been discovering and supporting the best musical talent in the country. It encourages emerging musicians to push themselves by cultivating discipline and perseverance, all while giving them an outstanding opportunity for artistic development. The idea for the Competition first took shape in 1958 in Montréal. Today, 14 chapters are at work from coast to coast in Canada. The same spirit that inspired the CMC’s founders is still alive in each of its volunteers: they are the backbone of the CMC, and they provide the energy needed to organize such a competition. Since its foundation, the CMC has seen the participation of thousands of emerging musicians. Among these are some of the biggest names in today’s national and international classical music scene: Marc-André Hamelin, Chantal Juillet, Louis Lortie, Martin Beaver, Marie-Nicole Lemieux, André Laplante, Gwen Hoebig, Susan Hoeppner, Stéphane Lemelin, Robert Silverman, Angela Cheng, Anne-Marie Dubois, Desmond Hoebig, Angela Hewitt, Janina Fialkoswka, James Ehnes and Gregory Charles, to name a few. The future seems equally bright.

*These dates could be subject to change

News posted Tuesday, October 16, 2018